Your tears don't shake my world like Britney Spears.

Catching Up With… Maia Hirasawa

It occurred to me the other day that it’s been a while since I heard from Maia Hirasawa. After all, she’s responsible for one of the finest, catchiest indie pop songs ever made. So I decided to do some catching up and to my surprise, not only had the lovely Swedish/Japanese singer/songwriter relocated to Japan, she also released a new album over there last year! Her self-titled Japan-only album is a collection of new songs in English and Japanese, as well as assorted tracks from her second album and Swedish EP. The lead single “It Doesn’t Stop” also serves as a sort of introduction to the land of rising sun, and it’s classic Maia at her best – robust, bright and sprightly. The song’s bursting with life and sheer joy that it couldn’t fail to bring a stupid grin on my face. Most of all, it took me right back to 2007, when I first discovered the super talented female roster of Swede lavel Razzia Records, including Maia among Hello Saferide, Firefox AK, and Jonna Lee. Those were the days…
View the sailor-themed video for the song below – you will really dig this if you’re a fan of Regina Spektor or commercial-friendly Feist. For good measure, I’ll throw in her harp-laden cover of Ne-Yo’s “Because Of You”. As you can tell by the choice, it’s a quite old one but still sounds fantastic.

 

 

MP3: Maia Hirasawa – It Doesn’t Stop

MP3: Maia Hirasawa – Because Of You (Ne-Yo Cover)

 

Buy her music.
More on Maia.

3 responses

  1. Such fun, breezy pop! Robinovich directed this video, and he’s really rocking, too. He’s done stuff for Firefox AK and Veronica Maggio (check out the Stopp video, super hot).

    January 16, 2012 at 9:24 AM

  2. AC3

    Never heard ‘And I found this boy’ before, thanks. Although it sounds like Itchycoo Park!

    January 19, 2012 at 8:52 PM

  3. Pingback: Popforward: Frida Sundemo « Pop Labyrinth

Leave a comment