Your tears don't shake my world like Britney Spears.

ON ROTATION: Empress Of – Hat Trick

TR16-EMPRESS-OF-SYSTEMS

Empress Of is the moniker of Lorely Rodriguez, Brooklyn-based songstress signed to Terrible Records, label home of Solange and Chairlift. Considering the label’s pedigree, it should come as no surprise that her new track “Hat Trick” is a total dream-pop choon. It’s subdued, ethereal ’80s synth-pop at its smoothest, with slick production and silky sweet vocals. In a nutshell, it sounds like St. Vincent produced by Dev Hynes (Blood Orange). The only flaw I can find is that it’s too damn short! With this, Empress Of has unofficially joined the like-minded crystal-ball pop league of Twin Sister, Class Actress and Glasser. Now excuse me while I go hit repeat one more time.

 

STREAM: Empress Of – Hat Trick

 

“Hat Trick” is on Empress Of’s upcoming EP/12″ Systems, out on April 2.
Pre-order the EP.
More on Empress Of.

One response

  1. I think I just found my new favorite track! I agree about the Blood Orange production comparison, but def a good thing.

    March 24, 2013 at 10:12 PM

Leave a comment